The Hell with Ya!

durga-cropped

Durga, with her many qualities. Pic taken from Shutterstock.

What can’t you do, Ma’am?

That was what my student asked me earlier this week, when I told a group of them that I would write the script for teachers’ performance in the Talent Night, an annual event in our faculty, as well as direct the acts, edit the music, and prepare the visual accompaniment.

I could certainly mention some skills that I don’t have. Like cooking. Like gardening. Like sewing. But compared to the skills that I have, the number is far less.

Of course, this may come as bragging to some of you. Nonetheless, this is not what I intend to say here.

What I intend to say is that every person is multifaceted, but unfortunately the society tends to not acknowledge this, sometimes based on our other background. There are certain norms that discourage people from exploring their facets to the fullest.

One can be interested and good at playing football. Yet, once that someone is over 30 years old, have a steady job (that is totally irrelevant to football), involvement in a football club as a member is viewed with raised eyebrows. Or, when someone like me, who’s still very much keen into singing, although I’m a university lecturer and a mother of two, decided to join a band and perform, my students will often confront me with disbelief.

There seems to be a negative correlation between age, or profession, or position, or whatever aspects that scream ‘adult’, ‘senior member of the community’, ‘formality’ with anything cool or fun to do. When you are of certain ages, have certain professions, reach certain positions (be it in the workplace or in the community), being cool or being fun is totally out of place. You are going to be considered the freak of the nature.

My response to those who consider me as the freak of the nature is simple: the hell with your perception about yours truly. I would maintain my position that I am multifaceted and you have to accept me just the way I am. As long as I don’t bother others with my multifaceted nature, I don’t see why it is a problem.

What’d you say, Peeps?

 

 

 

Share your thoughts!

