To watch, then to read

Which one do you prefer: to watch the movie then read the book or to read the book then watch the movie?

I have a very bad habit when I’m watching movies based on books: I kept criticizing how insufficient the movie was in depicting the story in the book. Somehow the characters were not as I imagined, the events in the book were deleted, and the plot was even changed. I know it’s not fair to pass such criticism. After all, one can’t put 300 pages something into a two-hour movie. There must be things to omit or alter. But still, I’m not satisfied and I keep telling my students that it’s better to read the book than watch the movie. Usually I read the book first, and then watch the movie, and usually got disappointed.

What I don’t realize is many of the movies that I enjoyed are based on books. Whoa. That’s something that is so unexpected. As I perused the list of books in goodreads.com, I started building the list of books that I MUST read because I have enjoyed the movies very much. The list is endless:

  • Everything Is Illuminated
  • A Very Long Engagement
  • Perfume: The Story of a Murderer
  • Nights in Rodanthe
  • Snow Falling on Cedars
  • The Pursuit of Happiness
  • Atonement
  • Cold Mountain
  • The Prince of Tides
  • The Color Purple
  • The Secret Life of Bees
  • The Bridges of Madison County
  • Brokeback Mountain
  • PS, I Love You
  • My Sister’s Keeper
  • Marley & Me: Love and Life with the World’s Worst Dog
  • The Time Traveler’s Wife
  • Their Eyes Were Watching God
  • Pride and Prejudice
  • Schindler’s List
  • Twilight
  • Gone With the Wind
  • Wuthering Heights
  • Little Women
  • The Kite Runner

Whoa. I need to stop building my list and get the books and read them. NOW.

See you when I finish reading at least half of the books in my list

Share your thoughts!

